A Piece of Cake…Not!

Gallery

Fil and I have been celebrating Skye’s monthsary with a cake, special sticker, and a portrait at a semi-permanent space. We plan to keep this up until she reaches one year old, then start doing it once a year. I think a lot of first time parents do the same thing. We usually buy store bought cakes though. One fine day, I thought, why not attempt to bake my own cake?

I got my cookbook which literally listed every recipe you’ll need in your lifetime: The Good Housekeeping Illustrated Cookbook.


The picture looked enticing, and the recipe seemed easy to follow. I have tried baking cupcakes and cookies before, and I thought it would also be a piece of cake. 


One night, when everyone in the house was already resting, I went to the kitchen and gathered all the ingredients:


Then, I followed the instructions to a T. I mixed all the necessary ingredients up and placed them in the required container.



I placed them all in the oven together, and simply took the cupcakes out well ahead of the cake. The cupcakes turned out well.

The cake didn’t take 30-35 minutes to bake. It took me around 45 minutes to bake. It came out really nice!


I immediately transferred it to a flat pan and sliced it in half before letting it cool.


I was so happy with the result! While waiting for them to cool, I then prepared the coffee cream-cheese frosting. These are the ingredients I used:


First, I dipped the cupcake as instructed. It felt like decorating donuts. 


Now here was where things started to go wrong: icing the cake.


I spread the icing in the middle of the cake, and thought that I should leave most of the icing to cover the cracks on top of the cake. Wrong decision. The icing was so heavy that it broke the top layer apart! I had no choice except to scoop the cake up and put it back in the round pan that I used to bake it. 


There you have it. The last picture was my finish product. I didn’t get to taste this one (I was on a really strict diet), but all my friends who I forced to taste it said it was good, but was too sweet for their taste. 

A few days after, I attempted to bake another cake. This time, I didn’t bother to document the process. It came out in better shape, but according to Fil, it didn’t taste as good. Since it looked passable, we used it for Skye’s monthsary. 


Skye touched the cake. It was so hard that it didn’t even break!

Hopefully, things will get better in the coming months 🙂

any thoughts you'd like to share?

