Recipe Hit and Miss

Gallery

I was searching for a homemade Polvoron recipe when I stumbled upon Yummly. It’s site that offers free recipes, including low carb ones. Polvoron forgotten, I got hooked at looking for food I can cook with ingredients I currently have at home.

For breakfast, i attempted to do “Cream Cheese Pancakes” and For dinner, I made “Pepperoni Pizza Cauliflower Casserole

taken from Mellissa Sevigny's recipe

taken from Mellissa Sevigny’s recipe

taken also from Mellissa Sevigny's recipe

taken also from Mellissa Sevigny’s recipe

Now here is a detailed account on what I did in the kitchen. first, the pancake:

put all ingredients together

put all ingredients together

I was supposed to use the blender, but I beat it by hand instead.

I was supposed to use the blender, but I beat it by hand instead.

prepared the non-stick pan

prepared the non-stick pan

prepared the butter

prepared the butter

first attempt

first attempt

upon flipping.

upon flipping.

second attempt

second attempt

upon flipping

upon flipping

last attempt. maybe i need to let one side cook some more....

last attempt. maybe i need to let one side cook some more….

upon flipping

upon flipping

Final output. Quite far from the target look!

Final output. Quite far from the target look!

Bottom line is, I can’t flip well! Can someone tell me what I did wrong?
The food may look bad, but it tasted really good. sort of like french toast, without the sugar or the carb. Perfect for LCHF eaters like me!

Here was my dinner experiment:

All the ingredients I need. i substituted the meat in the recipe with something that has no preservatives.

All the ingredients I need. i substituted the meat in the recipe with something that has no preservatives.

cutting the meat as evenly as possible

cutting the meat as evenly as possible

Step 1: add cream and butter to the cauliflower

Step 1: add cream and butter to the cauliflower

Step 2: microwave in high heat for 10 minutes

Step 2: microwave in high heat for 10 minutes

stir and microwave for 6 more minutes.

stir and microwave for 6 more minutes.

step 3: mix together with some meat and cheese. I had a hard time doing this, because i think I was using the wrong blade (or the wrong tool)

step 3: mix together with some meat and cheese. I had a hard time doing this, because i think I was using the wrong blade (or the wrong tool)

end result -- pasty.

end result — pasty.

put cheese on top

put cheese on top

followed by the meat

followed by the meat

microwave for five minutes

microwave for five minutes

Done!

Done!

This recipe really worked for me. It tasted like pizza, felt like lasagna. A small slice immediately made feel full.

I think I’m hooked. That same night, I bought a low carb cookbook. Earlier today, I spent around P6k buying various type of cheese, cream and meat. I’m quite excited to experiment!

For more information about LCHF, click here.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for trying my recipes! On the pancakes, you have to wait longer before you flip in order for them to stay together. I’ve been making them for years and I still get impatient and end up with broken pancakes when I flip too soon! Glad you liked the recipes! šŸ™‚

    Like

any thoughts you'd like to share?

