Simple Baked Chicken Recipe

Gallery

I used to cook, a lot! I learned the basic when I worked as a short term missionary in Baguio from my dear friend and Ninang, Amy Miller (I miss you very much, Amy!!!!), back in 2006.

I wrote all the recipes I learned in my diary. Today, I got a chance to experiment once more. Here is something she taught me, that I try to replicate today, September 11, 2014.

Baked Chicken

You need:
Chicken, cut into parts

And for the sauce, you need:
3 tsp salt
2 tsp pepper
2 tsp mustard
4 cups tomato sauce
1 cup vinegar
1 cup brown sugar

I tried experimenting with Stevia. I separated some of the sauce mixture and used 10sachets (10grams) of stevia instead of the brown sugar.

IMG_3634.JPG

When everything is ready, preheat your oven to 350.
First, prepare the sauce by mixing all the ingredients together and putting them to boil, adjusting the measurement according to taste.

IMG_3633.JPG

The one with Stevia was too sour, so I added two tbsp of brown sugar to it.

Now, it’s time to brown the chicken. Add salt and pepper first, before putting them in a pan with cover. Use medium heat. You only want to brown them, not cook them thoroughly. After a minute or two, turn them using a tong and cover the lid once more. Take them off the pan after another minute or two.

IMG_3632-0.JPG

IMG_3631-0.JPG

Now it’s time to place the chicken in an oven-friendly container. Pour the sauce over the chicken, ensuring that each piece is swimming in the sauce.

IMG_3630.JPG

IMG_3629.JPG

Cover everything with a tin foil and use a fork to punch holes for the chicken to “breathe”

IMG_3628.JPG

By this time, your oven should be hot and ready. Put it inside (use oven mitts ok?) and set your timer to 90 minutes.

IMG_3626.JPG

Open the foil five minutes before serving.

IMG_3625.JPG

Here now is the finished product, and a picture of the people who enjoyed it.

IMG_3624.JPG

IMG_3623.JPG

I have to admit though, I made sort of a major boo boo. I doubled the vinegar in the recipe! And, and, there is not enough tomato sauce at home to compensate for it. Solution: add tomato ketchup. So, what you see in the pictures is made up of more than one kilo chicken, and two batches of sauce. Good for eight to ten people, provided that you will serve other viands.

The one with stevia was too sour for my taste, but way healthier. Applicable to those doing lchf or ketogenic diet.

The normal one came out well. You’d want to eat more rice along with it, to savor the sauce.

If ever you decide to try this simple recipe, share your thoughts and experiences with me, ok?

One response »

any thoughts you'd like to share?

