Lord Technology

Gallery

This would not be so true a few years back. my Ipod touch broke down (center button was hard to press) so I brought it back to the store. Since it was still under warranty, they would ship it to Singapore and replace it with a new one — in one month’s time! How could I live without it! The thought of going through life day after day is agonizing without my constant companion. I wonder how I would survive. At the back of my mind, I know that I could, for I lived years without one in the past and everything was fine.

It’s amazing how technology today becomes a created need. In my experience, it started with Pagers/beepers. We didn’t have one before, and life went along fine. Then suddenly, we should each get one, for our safety and convenience! Then cellphones came along and the same thing happened. Before you could even blink, newer and more advanced models kept spouting along, making your new purchases obsolete. Why is it like this? Are we under the spell of technology? Is technology now a god?

Without my iPod touch, I can barely get my work done. All my songs are there, my books, my bible, my dictionaries and my games. My camera and my notes for record-keeping as well. It’s a blessing that Filbert selflessly offered his Ipod touch to me. He’s letting me use it while we wait for mine.

With fewer gadgets between the both of us, we realized that we have more time to chat, more time to focus on our other passion. He suddenly found the time to edit back-logged pictures. I found myself having longer devotion time. We often eat our meals silently, each reading our own books from our own iPod. But lately, we found ourselves conversing and enjoying our food more.

The use of technology, for both children and adults, should be highly regulated. Just like watching TV, there are some gadgets that will allow our minds to wander restlessly and focus on unimportant things more than the things we ought to do. According to Galatians 5, the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. What I lack most is patience and self-control, and I hope that as I grow more mature, I will gain them too.

Still, I couldn’t wait ’til I get it back! 🙂

One response »

any thoughts you'd like to share?

